Week #3

Writing for Ideas and Practice

List the five greatest simple things in life. Think simple be specific: a hot bubble bath, a great meal, salt water fishing.

The smell of fresh cut grass.

A rainbow after a storm.

The cry of a newborn puppy.

A smirk from a crush.

The smell of sulfur after a firework shoots off.

Choose one of the items on your list and paint a word picture of it. In your description, show us the joy that exists in it. Share your picture with others.                                          

A smirk from a crush.

His face so pure in love, pouting lips slightly dampened, that small slight smirk while gazing into my heart filled eyes, felt like static running through my veins.

Think about a specific moment in your life. Now think of something concrete to you associate with that moment. It could be a wedding ring, a baseball glove, or the vinyl upholstery on the back seat of your car. It could be anything, but it must be yours. Describe the experience by using the concrete image as a focal point. Make the reader see and feel at the same time.

Sweating, yet, she looked so beautiful with her red aura. She, I knew surely would be the death of me, but tasted so crisp. She rested alone by the side of the pool, I knew she was waiting for me. Beautiful, I would call her, yet I knew she was bad for me, I went over and had a sip of her bitter sweet body. From there on I knew she in fact, was the most wonderful mistake I would ever make, mind blowing. To this day, she still drives me wild. Budweiser, you beautiful girl.

List ten clichés as quickly as you can. You will find that there are reginal differences in your collective repertoire here. We’ll help you get started. “He’s as busy as a bee”; “She’s as fat as a hog.”

“He’s crazy as a fly’s eyes”

“She’s happy as a squirrel eating”

“Beauty is the Mistress, the Gardener Her Slave.”

“A carrot on a stick.”

“Dropped like a hot potato.”

“For want of a nail the shoe was lost.”

“Free as a bird.”

“In a difficult situation.”

“Happy as a duck in water.”

“Scraping the bottom of the barrel.”

Now rewrite all five of your clichés, so that the comparisons are vivid and original.

“He’s crazy as a fly’s eyes”

Multiple mirrored, hyperactive, buzzing eyes, glistening buzz, buzz the fly is. Glistening he was, with the smell of shine on his breath and the buzz he had going, of course he was hyperactive, seeing multiple mirror visions.

“She’s happy as a squirrel eating”

Bright eyed, bushy brown hair, she sat their nibbling at her food, starring up at me only to let out a little giggle, she knew she was acting like a little animal.

“Free as a bird.”

As she walked through the tall grass in the field, she lifted her arms as the flowing breeze made her white gown levitate, she was beautiful, and for that moment, it’s as though she could have flown away.

“Between a rock and a hard place.”

As the doctor opened the door, he looked at my wife concerned and hopeless. He said “Either you will not survive or the baby.”, you must decide now.

“Happy as a duck in water.”

As they frolicked through the tiny blown up pool, their laughter echoed through the perfectly placed trees of the backyard forest. Like little ducklings taking their first bath, they were utterly content.

 

(Joy Harjo”I Give You Back”)

I release you, my beautiful and terrible
fear. I release you. You were my beloved
and hated twin, but now, I don’t know you
as myself. I release you with all the
pain I would know at the death of
my children.

You are not my blood anymore.

I give you back to the soldiers
who burned down my home, beheaded my children,
raped and sodomized my brothers and sisters.
I give you back to those who stole the
food from our plates when we were starving.

I release you, fear, because you hold
these scenes in front of me and I was born
with eyes that can never close.

I release you
I release you
I release you
I release you

I am not afraid to be angry.
I am not afraid to rejoice.
I am not afraid to be black.
I am not afraid to be white.
I am not afraid to be hungry.
I am not afraid to be full.
I am not afraid to be hated.
I am not afraid to be loved.

To be loved, to be loved, fear.

Oh, you have choked me, but I gave you the leash.
You have gutted me but I gave you the knife.
You have devoured me, but I laid myself across the fire.

I take myself back, fear.
You are not my shadow any longer.
I won’t hold you in my hands.
You can’t live in my eyes, my ears, my voice
my belly, or in my heart my heart
my heart my heart.

But come here, fear
I am alive and you are so afraid
of dying.

Writing to Warm Up

As you read the poem aloud, what did you notice about the construction of the poem?

The construction of the poem, seemed as if she was writing a song.

Is the speaker referring to the present here? Is she speaking of her immediate life? If not, what is she referring to?

This poem is a combination of past and present. It seems as if the speaker is referring to hardships of her forefathers and mothers before her, and possibly the rough life she had to endure simply because her future was determined by their pasts.

What I have taken from this poem, is that the speaker is…

The speaker seems to be in a way forgiving fear and the despair it had brought to her, releasing it by forgiveness is the strongest of emotion, and it shows through the words like fire on ice.

The speaker uses the second person (you) here to create a mirror image. Is the speaker looking at herself and what is inside her? To most of us, fear is “terrible” and “hated,” but we don’t often call it “beloved.” Have you ever seen your fear as something to be treasured?

I have, in fact, looked fear in the face before, and sought out the beauty in it. He lifted his head to mine, antlers taller than my body alone, he looked as if he wanted to kill me. I took my hand out and offed him a simple gesture, he gazed into my eyes and slowly backed away, he knew then, I meant no harm. I am sure the fear spread through us both. Pain is beauty, and beauty is in everything, so don’t be afraid to be in pain, or to be beautiful.

Write a poem that can be set to music. This could be a blues poem, a pop chorus, a hymn, or even a song for jumping rope.

My Ghost

Say that you need me,

say that you want me,

 say that you are the one thinking of me,

 say that you hear me,

 say that you breath me,

 say that the world would only be empty.

If I weren’t with you,

Would you still miss me

Would you still want to virtually kiss me?

 Say that you will,

say that you are,

Say that you’ll be the ghost in my heart,

I will love you, I will care,

I just hope we always will fare.

Inside this world, dismal and cruel,

You are to me as I am to you.

I am your one you are my only,

Now we will never have to be lonely.

 

Write a four line stanza employing alliteration.

He calls to me, a savior’s despair.
He morns for love a true spoken repair.
Just love me blind, I’ll love you too.
Say not that you love me, if it is not true.

 

Leave a Reply

